Clicky

Crossfire Designs
Back to mainpage
Change language
Send a mail About this site
Webdesign
Source code
Software
Art
Articles
Links
Image gallery
Forums

Phonomenal!

PC Junior / Tandy 1000 (1983)

IBM PCJr - (c) www.old-computers.com
IBM PCJr - (c) www.old-computers.com
Since their PC gained a certain success, IBM took itself courage and tried to compete with established home computers like the C64. They recognized the limitations of the PC in matters of video and sound, however what they created, was not really outstanding. The PCJr didn't know expansions in form of plug-in cards, and instead one had to put expansion adapters at the front - a new expansion was connected to the last one. That could turn into a true rat tail, if you wanted to extend something more!
But the main problem of this machine was the keyboard which ran via infrared, and instead of the promised several meters only sitting quite near its front was possible, and so so it was practically free of any sense.
One thing it shined in was its sound: using a chip by Texas Instruments, it was possible for the machine to pass 3 sound channels and one noise channel with 16 volume graduations each! Looking at these specs today, this doesn't sound much better than the capabilities of the first Gameboy, but for the PC-world, it was a real enrichment!

Meanwhile, also Tandy developed a clone, which they wanted to praise as "PCJr compatible". However IBM withdrew its model at this time, because although their second version solved most deficiencies of the first one, only few were sold because of the bad expandability.
So Tandy only titled its model "MS-DOS compatible". In contrast to the PCJr however, this model could spread quite far, and so the music playback is supported by not only few games on these systems.
A later expansion in the Tandy TL/SL made the direct playback of digitized samples possible with simultaneous utilization of the synthesizer!

Samples

Monkey Island 1[OGG] [MP3]Almost like speaker version, uses hardware rather bad
Space Quest 3[OGG] [MP3]Not overwhelming
Silpheed[OGG] [MP3]
4D Boxing[OGG] [MP3]Playback in PCJr/Tandy mode
4D Boxing[OGG] [MP3]Played on Tandy TL with digital samples
Wibarm[OGG] [MP3]
Zeliard[OGG] [MP3]Great sound; rather untypical

Links

old-computers.comThe IBM PC Junior
MobygamesGames supporting PCJr/Tandy
MobygamesGames supporting Tandy TL/SL


Next Next

Index

forum Discuss article
print Print version

Send a mail About this site

Clicky

Crossfire Designs
Zurück zur Hauptseite
Sprache wechseln
Eine Email senden Über diese Site
Webdesign
Sourcecode
Software
Art
Artikel
Links
Bildergalerie
Foren

Phonomenal!

PC Junior / Tandy 1000 (1983)

IBM PCJr - (c) www.old-computers.com
IBM PCJr - (c) www.old-computers.com
Da sich in Sachen PC bei IBM allmählich ein gewisser Erfolg einstellte, faßte sich IBM Mut und versuchte, den etablierten Heimrechnern wie dem C64 Konkurrenz zu machen. Man hatte die Beschränkungen des PC in Sachen Video und Sound erkannt, doch was man kreierte, war trotz allem nicht überragend. Erweiterungen in Form von Steckkarten kannte der PCJr nicht, und stattdessen mußte man aufeinandersetzbare Adapter an die Front stecken. Das konnte zu einem wahren Rattenschwanz werden, sollte man tatsächlich mehr aufrüsten wollen!
Hauptproblem dieses Rechners war jedoch das Keyboard, welches per Infrarot lief, jedoch anstatt den versprochenen mehreren Metern nur das recht dichte Davorsitzen ermöglichte, und so gewissermaßen sinnfrei war.
Das Beste war damals aber trotzdem der Sound: über einen Chip von Texas Instruments war es der Maschine möglich, 3 Tonkanäle und einen Noise-Kanal mit jeweils 16 Lautstärken abzuspielen! Dies klingt aus heutiger Sicht sicherlich nicht viel besser als die Soundmöglichkeiten des ersten Gameboy, aber für die PC-Welt war es eine echte Bereicherung!

Inzwischen hatte auch Tandy einen Klon entwickelt, welchen man als "PCJr compatible" anpreisen wollte. Doch zu diesem Zeitpunkt zog IBM sein Modell zurück, denn die zweite Version hatte zwar nicht mehr die Mankos der ersten, verkaufte sich aber wegen der schlechten Erweiterbarkeit nur wenig.
Dies führte denn dazu, daß der Tandy wurde nur noch "MS-DOS compatible" betitelt wurde. Im Gegensatz zum PCJr allerdings konnte sich dieses Modell recht weit verbreiten, und so wird die Musikwiedergabe auf diesen Systemen von nicht gerade wenigen Spielen unterstützt.
Eine spätere Erweiterung im Tandy TL/SL ermöglichte überdies sogar die direkte Wiedergabe von digitalisierten Samples bei gleichzeitiger Nutzung des Synthesizers!

Samples

Monkey Island 1[OGG] [MP3]Fast wie die Speaker-Version, nutzt Hardware eher schlecht
Space Quest 3[OGG] [MP3]Nicht unbedingt überragend
Silpheed[OGG] [MP3]
4D Boxing[OGG] [MP3]Wiedergabe im PCJr/Tandy mode
4D Boxing[OGG] [MP3]Abgespielt auf Tandy TL mit digitalem Sampling
Wibarm[OGG] [MP3]
Zeliard[OGG] [MP3]Überragender Sound, eher untypisch

Links

old-computers.comDer IBM PC Junior
MobygamesSpiele mit Unterstützung für PCJr/Tandy
MobygamesSpiele mit Unterstützung für Tandy TL/SL


Weiter Weiter

Seitenindex

forum Artikel diskutieren
print Druckversion

Eine Email senden Über diese Site