Crossfire Designs
Back to mainpage
Change language
Send a mail About this site
Source code
Image gallery


The beginning...

PC Speaker (1981)

It was in the year of 1981, as the PC in form of an IBM PC model 150 with a 8088 CPU saw the light of the world - a fact known by almost every computer enthusiast.
If something counted, then this: it had to be cheap! Other machines probably also didn't succeed as a result of their pretty high price tag. So then it even happened that the at that time better election, a Motorola-CPU, was discarded. It was simply too good for this product!
It was therefore a cut almost everywhere. The continuation of it namely found itself in many other parts of the PC, over which is partly sworn still today. So it was just about the same with the audio playback. As office machines don't have to be able to playback whole symphonies in every last detail, sound was restricted to the absolute minimum: the PC Speaker.

IBM PC Model 5150 - (c)
IBM PC Model 5150 - (c)
This utensil of the original IBM PC could exactly play a rectangle signal at a fixed volume and one sound channel, at least after all on different frequencies.
One would like to think that it would sound hideous to seriously play music through this thing, and admittedly, it mainly did. Only the human creativity often arises out of the pure limitation, and actually it was hardly different here.
While some games made use of quite simple tricks to get a better sound, for example playing in short frequency at different pitches, in order to simulate more channels, there were also other attempts, like with Lucasgames. To lend their songs some more pep, they tried to simulate drums (sample "Maniac Mansion").

However, the end of the flagpole was not yet reached. Meanwhile, clever programmers had found out how one could elicit real samples from the speaker! Admittedly not completely without expenditure, because this methodology necessitated a painstaking timing what made running a game in parallel very difficult on slow machines. Playback therefore was initially often restricted to the intros of the games.
A popular example, which existed alone to the demonstration of this technology, was "Magic Mushroom" - a small, ancient commercial, which was played through the PC-Speaker.

Inevitably each game supported the Speaker practically since a "real" sound card was still very expensive in these times.


Monkey Island 1[OGG] [MP3]A usual sample the user was listening to
Maniac Mansion[OGG] [MP3]Drum simulation
Magic Mushroom[OGG] [MP3]Original sample
Magic Mushroom[OGG] [MP3]... and how it sounded through the speaker


So, "how can that thing play samples anyway"? Here's a small technical explanation:
The Speaker still is a piece of mechanics. This makes it inert, so only sounds limited to lower frequencies can pass. And exactly this is what is taken advantage from - with pulse width modulation.
The speaker can be connected to the PC Programable Interval Timer (PIT) 2. The PIT is able to turn the speaker on and off at a given frequency, which normally makes you hear the "beep" frequency you are used to. To play back a sample, you change the speed of PIT 2 of the speaker to represent a pulse width that your current sample needs - and this thousands of times a second, depending on your playback frequency.
However, a problem was the often very low playback volume. Another interfering factor can be the whistle of the loudspeaker of the high modulation frequency, depending on how the speaker is being accessed. Also the sample resolution is limited by the actual PIT frequency and the playback frequency. The higher the playback frequency, the lower the resolution gets. For example, you can achieve 6 bits resolution at about 18600 Hz.
Both problems have been resolved later for example with dynamics compression (quiet sections louder), and also better programming, and so only one problem remained: many cheaper PC clones and laptops had installed a piezo-beeper, which didn't have the inertia of the PC speaker. Hence, the pulse width modulation doesn't work with it, and you either heard whistling or very distorted sounds.


Magic Mushroom (download)The original for download
old-computers.comThe IBM PC 5150
Text documentProgramming the speaker for sample playback
MobygamesGames supporting the speaker
MobygamesGames supporting the speaker (using tweaking)

Next Next


forum Discuss article
print Print version

Send a mail About this site

Clicky

Crossfire Designs
Zurück zur Hauptseite
Sprache wechseln
Eine Email senden Über diese Site
Webdesign
Sourcecode
Software
Art
Artikel
Links
Bildergalerie
Foren

Phonomenal!

Der Anfang...

PC Speaker (1981)

Es war anno 1981, als der PC in Form eines IBM PC Model 5150 mit 8088 CPU die Welt erblickte, das ist wohl inzwischen allgemein bekannt.
Und es zählte vor allem eines: billig mußte er sein! Andere Modelle der Zeit scheiterten nämlich auch oft an ihren hohen Endverbraucherpreisen. So kam es denn sogar dazu, daß die damals bessere Wahl, eine Motorola-CPU, ganz einfach verworfen wurde. Sie war einfach zu gut für dieses Produkt!
Es wurde also an allen Enden und Ecken gespart. Die Fortsetzung davon nämlich fand sich in vielen anderen Bauteilen des PC wieder, über die teils noch heute geflucht wird. So eben auch in der Tonwiedergabe. Eine Büromaschine mußte halt nicht ganze Symphonien detailgetreu wiedergeben können, die Tonausgabe wurde auf das absolute Minimum beschränkt: den PC Speaker.

IBM PC Model 5150 - (c) www.old-computers.com
IBM PC Model 5150 - (c) www.old-computers.com
Dieses Utensil des urtümlichen IBM PC konnte genau mit einem Tonkanal ein Rechteckssignal mit einer festen Lautstärke, immerhin auf unterschiedlichen Frequenzen erzeugen.
Man möchte meinen, es würde scheußlich klingen, auf diesem Ding ernsthaft Musik abspielen zu wollen, und zugegeben, das tat es größtenteils auch.
Nur die menschliche Kreativität erwächst oft aus der reinen Beschränkung heraus, und tatsächlich war es hier nicht großartig anders.
Während einige Spiele über recht simple Tricks versuchten, mehr herauszuholen, sei es das zeitlich knapp versetzte Abspielen in verschiedenen Tonhöhen, um mehr Tonkanäle zu simulieren, gab es auch andere Versuche, wie z.B. Lucasgames. Um ihren Liedern etwas mehr Pep zu verleihen, versuchten sie, eine Art Schlagzeug zu simulieren (s. Sample "Maniac Mansion").
Das Ende der Fahnenstange war aber noch nicht erreicht. Inzwischen hatten nämlich findige Programmierer herausgefunden, wie man dem Speaker sogar echte Samples entlocken konnte! Freilich nicht ganz ohne Aufwand, denn diese Methodik erforderte ein akribisches Timing, was ein paralleles Ablaufen jeglicher Spielabläufe sehr schwer machte. Man beschränkte sich daher anfangs oft auf die Intros der Spiele.
Ein populäres Beispiel, welches allein zur Demonstration dieser Technik existierte, war "Magic Mushroom" - ein kleiner, uralter Werbespot, welcher mittels des PC-Speaker abgespielt wurde.

Zwangsläufig unterstützte praktisch jedes Spiel den Speaker, da eine "echte" Soundkarte damals einfach noch zuviel Geld kostete.

Samples

Monkey Island 1[OGG] [MP3]
Maniac Mansion[OGG] [MP3]Schlagzeugsimulation
Magic Mushroom[OGG] [MP3]Original Sample
Magic Mushroom[OGG] [MP3]So klang das Sample über den PC Speaker

Technisches

Um der Frage "wie kann man da überhaupt Samples abspielen" gerecht zu werden, hier eine kleine technische Erläuterung:
Der Speaker ist nach wie vor ein Stück Mechanik. Das macht ihn gewissermaßen "träge", er schafft es nur bis zu einer bestimmten Frequenz Töne abzuspielen. Und genau dies macht man sich nun zu Nutze. Anstatt ihn mit seinem üblichen Frequenzspektrum zu füttern, spricht man ihn in einer wesentlich höheren Frequenz an, und schaltet ihn in dieser Frequenz kurzzeitig an oder aus, um so immerhin eine Auflösung von 6 Bit zu erhalten.
Ein Problem war allerdings die oft sehr geringe Lautstärke der Wiedergabe. Ein weiterer Störfaktor war das Pfeifen des Lautsprechers auf der hohen Modulationsfrequenz.
Beide Probleme waren u.a. mit Dynamikkompression (leise Abschnitte lauter) und auch besserer Programmierung später aber behoben worden, und so blieb nur eines: viele günstigere PC-Klone hatten einen Piezo-Summer eingebaut, der gerade die hohen Frequenzen besonders gut wiedergeben konnte - die Trägheit des normalen Speakers fehlte, und eine vernünftige Wiedergabe war fast unmöglich.

Links

Magic Mushroom (download)Das Original zum Download
old-computers.comDer IBM PC 5150
Gamedev.netProgrammierung des Speakers für die Sampleausgabe
MobygamesSpiele, die den Speaker unterstützen
MobygamesSpiele, die den Speaker unterstützen (mit Tweaking)


Weiter Weiter

Seitenindex

forum Artikel diskutieren
print Druckversion

Eine Email senden Über diese Site