Clicky

Crossfire Designs
Back to mainpage
Change language
Send a mail About this site
Webdesign
Source code
Software
Art
Articles
Links
Image gallery
Forums

Phonomenal!

Background

This article goes back more or less also to my childhood. As I was 13 years old, I sat in front of the PC with friends at that time, and we occupied ourselves above all with computer games. What particularly catched my interest at that time were the many options like "Roland", "AdLib" and similar. I wasn't aware at that time that there were also other alternatives to the ghastly tweeting by the PC speaker. With 15 years age, I finally had an AWE32 Value Edition.
Don't get misled from the title, this card was still far away from beeing cheap. It was prized at 340 German Marks 1995 (about 174 Euros or 195 dollars - without accounting for inflation) - however I finally could play everything with real sound!
Simultaneously, I held also a book named "PC Underground" in my hands. Not exactly outstanding, but filled with indications of the legendary Gravis Ultrasound and with scene demos.
During this time, I also learned to program the Sound Blaster. The book however quickly became an obstacle, because some information was completely incorrect, and so I got my information from somewhere else (my works for it still are available under the category "coding" on this web page).

However I still didn't know what "Roland" was. But also the rest of the sound options were interesting for me, and I finally searched the Web, and I found indications of a "LAPC-I" by Roland. Despite my efforts, it was not possible for me to get such a card in normal ways.
And while I had possessed some other legends, like the Gravis Ultrasound, long ago meanwhile, I finally got my LAPC-I in summer of 2002. Over this auction house, I had already gotten some other cards, and it still should do...
It is therefore not one of the cheapest hobbies, as you probably can imagine. Nevertheless I'm fascinated by the great sound that you already had in these former times - only they were quite exorbitant for me as teenager. And as these cards shouldn't collect dust in my wardrobe and remain unseen for years, they should now be described and shown as well as possible here.


Next Next

Index

forum Discuss article
print Print version

Send a mail About this site

Clicky

Crossfire Designs
Zurück zur Hauptseite
Sprache wechseln
Eine Email senden Über diese Site
Webdesign
Sourcecode
Software
Art
Artikel
Links
Bildergalerie
Foren

Phonomenal!

Hintergrund

Dieser Artikel geht mehr oder minder auch auf meine Kindheit zurück. Als 13-jähriger saß ich damals mit Freunden vorm PC, und wir haben uns vor allem mit Computerspielen beschäftigt. Was mich damals vor allem interessierte, waren die vielen Optionen wie "Roland", "AdLib" und ähnliches. Ich war mir damals noch überhaupt nicht bewußt, daß es auch andere Möglichkeiten als das gräßliche Fiepen aus dem PC Speaker gab. Mit 15 Jahren hatte ich dann endlich eine AWE32 Value Edition.
Vom Titel sollte man sich allerdings nicht täuschen lassen, denn auch diese Karte war weitab davon, als "günstig" bezeichnet werden zu können. 340 Mark hat sie mich 1995 gekostet - aber ich konnte endlich alles mit Sound spielen!
Gleichzeitig hielt ich dann auch ein Buch namens "PC Underground" in den Händen. Nicht gerade überragend, aber vollgestopft mit Szene-Demos und Hinweisen auf die legendäre Gravis Ultrasound.
Während dieser Zeit erlernte ich es ebenfalls, die Soundblaster zu programmieren. Das Buch allerdings war eher ein Hindernis, denn es gab einige Infos teils völlig falsch wieder, und so holte ich mir ebengenannte aus anderen Quellen (meine Arbeiten dazu sind noch immer auf dieser Page unter der Rubrik "Coding" auffindbar).

Doch was "Roland" war, wußte ich noch immer nicht. Aber auch der Rest der Soundoptionen interessierte mich schon, bis ich mich schließlich im Web auf die Suche machte, und Hinweise auf eine "LAPC-1" von Roland fand. Trotz meiner damaligen Bemühungen war es mir nicht möglich gewesen, eine solche Karte auf normalen Wegen zu erhalten.
Und während ich einige andere Legenden, wie die Gravis Ultrasound, inzwischen längst besaß, stieß ich Sommer 2002 auch endlich auf die LAPC-1 - bei Ebay. Über dieses Auktionshaus hatte ich bis dato schon einige Karten in die Hände bekommen, und sollte es auch weiterhin tun...
Es ist also nicht unbedingt eines der günstigsten Hobbies, wie man sich vorstellen kann. Dennoch faszinieren mich die Möglichkeiten, die man schon zur damaligen Zeit hatte - nur welche für mich als Teenager praktisch unerschwinglich waren. Und damit die Karten nicht im Schrank oder PC verstauben und ungesehen bleiben, sollen sie hier nun gezeigt und bestmöglich beschrieben werden.


Weiter Weiter

Seitenindex

forum Artikel diskutieren
print Druckversion

Eine Email senden Über diese Site